Origination Fees. OneMain charges loan origination fees. Depending on the state where you open your loan, the origination fee may be either a flat amount or a percentage of your loan amount. Flat fee amounts vary by state, ranging from $25 to $400. Percentage-based fees vary by state ranging from 1% to 10% of your loan amount subject to certain state limits on the fee amount.
Loan origination fees will be disclosed on the first page of your Loan Agreement and Disclosure Statement, near the bottom, under the heading “Prepaid Finance Charges.” The name of these fees varies by state. They may be called a Loan Processing Fee, Document Preparation Fee, Credit Investigation Fee or other similar name.
Late Payment Fees. OneMain charges late payment fees when payments are made after any grace period allowed by state law. These fees will vary, depending on the state where you open your loan. These fees may range from a flat amount of $5 to $30 per late payment, or they may be a percentage of your entire monthly payment amount or a percentage of the delinquent portion of your monthly payment amount, ranging from 1.5% to 15%, subject to certain state limits on the fees.
Late fees will be disclosed on the first page of your Loan Agreement and Disclosure Statement, near the top, under the heading “Truth in Lending Disclosures” in the row titled “Late Charge.”
Non-Sufficient Funds Fees. In states where permitted, OneMain charges a fee when a payment made by check or electronic ACH debit is returned due to insufficient funds. These are commonly referred to as “Non-Sufficient Funds” or “NSF” fees. The amount of these fees varies depending on state law and ranges from $10 to $50 per payment returned.
Governmental Fees. OneMain charges fees associated with perfecting its lien on a motor vehicle’s certificate of title. Where allowed by law, these fees are passed through to customers, without mark-up, in the same amount as is charged by the state or county to OneMain.
Note: This fee information is provided for general informational purposes only and is subject to change from time to time. This information does not supersede the fee disclosures which are printed on your Loan Agreement and Disclosure Statement. Contact your local branch for more details about the type and amount of fees that may be charged on your loan.
OneMain makes personal and auto loans from $1,500 - $20,000. Not all applicants will qualify for larger loan amounts or most favorable loan terms. Larger loan amounts require a first lien on a motor vehicle no more than ten years old, that meets our value requirements, titled in your name with valid insurance Loan approval and actual loan terms depend on your ability to meet our credit standards (including a responsible credit history, sufficient income after monthly expenses, and availability of collateral). APR’s are generally higher on loans not secured by a vehicle. Active duty military, their spouse or dependents covered by the Military Lending Act may not pledge any vehicle as collateral.
Borrowers in these states are subject to these minimum loan sizes: Alabama: $2,100. California: $3,000. Georgia: Unless you are a present customer, $3,100 minimum loan amount. Ohio: $2,000. Virginia: $2,600.
Borrowers (other than present customers) in these states are subject to these maximum unsecured loan sizes: Florida: $8,000. Iowa: $8,500. Maine: $7,000. Mississippi: $7,500. North Carolina: $7,500. New York: $20,000. Texas: $8,000. West Virginia: $14,000. An unsecured loan is a loan which does not require you to provide collateral (such as a motor vehicle) to the lender.